lifestyle, pets, Uncategorized

Pumpkin’s Adoption Story

I grew up with a house full of animals. In fact, my first animal was a little black and white cat named Smoky. For the majority of my life up until I adopted Pumpkin I have been a huge dog person; I had 4 large dogs, 3 red nose Pit Bulls and one Boston Terrier. I moved out of my house about 4 years ago and thought about getting another animal in the future, but not anytime soon.

William and I adopted our fur baby Pumpkin in 2015 at our local Humane Society. Before going to the Humane Society I did some browsing on their website and saw other cats I was interested in, but when I got there, some were already adopted. I was surprised and happy to learn that the animals typically don’t stay longer than a week at our Humane Society, especially since it was Christmas time. I knew she was the one right away. All of the cats were so adorable and sweet, but what led me to Pumpkin was that she came to me unlike the other cats. There was a sign on her crate that explained the surgery she had on her stomach; she had just been surrendered so they had to get her spayed right away. We were told not to pick her up, so I just looked at her from the cage. I remember she still had the bandages on her little tummy, and she stood up, nudged on my fingers and let me touch her through the cage. It was the sweetest thing ever that she was so playful and sweet despite her pain, so I decided on her. Fortunately, I was able to adopt her even though she was recovering from surgery.

When I brought her home William was still against the idea of having a cat. Before I adopted her I remember him saying “Kennedy, we aren’t getting a cat, are you crazy? Seriously?” but he loves that cat so much and they are like best friends. She watches him from our window when he’s outside, waits by the door for him to come home from work, and falls asleep on his chest every night. I really don’t know where we both would be without Pumpkin because she has brought so much joy and happiness into our lives. You know how some people say that couples should get a pet together before having a baby? Well that is true, and If we are this good with Pumpkin, I can’t imagine how we will raise our future children, considering we take better care of our cat than some do their human children. I remember seeing people with their pets before and thinking about how crazy they were for doing certain things for their pets, and now I am guilty of being that crazy cat lady.

Pumpkin is a 2 year-old orange tabby who loves cuddling with her pawrents, chirping at the birdies outside, and playing with her toys. She is 6.6 pounds and loves lickable treats with anchovies, tortilla chips, and Chick-fil-A French fries. She is our shadow and wherever we go she follows. She is honestly the best thing that’s happened to us; she is incredibly sweet, very active, has tons of character and just a beautiful, smart kitty. And boy is she spoiled, so so soo spoiled. She is the light of our lives and I am so happy I went to the Humane Society that day!

 

12 thoughts on “Pumpkin’s Adoption Story”

  1. She is beautiful! I rescued my kitties when they were only a few weeks old (with their mama). I had a couple of cats growing up but wasn’t really a cat person, I was more into my dogs, until I got these guys. I adore my silly little floofs.

    Like

  2. My cat is 8 years old now. I adopted her as well, as soon as I walked into the spca I instantly fell in love. She is truly the greatest cat I’ve ever met 🙂 great story! Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

